Test levels, types and technics

Get Started. It's Free
or sign up with your email address
Test levels, types and technics by Mind Map: Test levels, types and technics

1. Test levels

1.1. Component testing

1.2. Integration testing

1.3. System testing

1.4. Acceptance testing

2. Software testing classification

2.1. By code execution

2.1.1. Static testing

2.1.2. Dynamic testing

2.2. By architecture tier

2.2.1. Presentation tier testing

2.2.2. Business-logic tier testing

2.2.3. Data tier testing

2.3. By access to application code and architecture

2.3.1. White box method

2.3.2. Black box method

2.3.3. Gray box method

2.4. By functions under test importance

2.4.1. Smoke testing

2.4.2. Critical path testing

2.4.3. Extended testing

2.5. By end users participation

2.5.1. Alpha testing

2.5.2. Beta testing

2.5.3. Gamma testing

2.6. By automation level

2.6.1. Manual

2.6.2. Automated (+ automatic)

2.7. By application nature

2.7.1. Web app testing

2.7.2. Mobile app testing

2.7.3. Desktop app testing

2.7.4. ...

2.8. By formalization level

2.8.1. Test case based

2.8.2. Exploratory

2.8.3. Ad hoc

2.9. By aims and goals

2.9.1. By ways of dealing with application Positive testing Negative testing

2.9.2. Functional testing

2.9.3. Nonfunctional testing

2.9.4. Installation testing

2.9.5. Regression testing

2.9.6. Re-testing

2.9.7. Acceptance testing

2.9.8. Operational testing

2.9.9. Usability testing

2.9.10. Accessibility testing

2.9.11. Interface testing

2.9.12. Security testing

2.9.13. Internationalization testing

2.9.14. Localization testing

2.9.15. Compatibility testing Configuration testing Cross-browser testing

2.9.16. Comparison testing

2.9.17. Qualification testing

2.9.18. Reliability testing

2.9.19. Recoverability testing

2.9.20. Failover testing

2.9.21. Data quality testing and Database integrity testing

2.9.22. Resource utilization testing

2.9.23. Performance testing Load testing Scalability testing Volume testing Stress testing Concurrency testing

2.10. By chronology

2.10.1. General chronology Positive (simple) Negative (simple) Positive (complex) Negative (complex)

2.10.2. By component hierarchy Bottom-up testing Top-down testing Hybrid testing

2.10.3. By attention to requirements and requirements’ components Requirements testing Functional components testing Nonfunctional components testing

2.11. By techniques and approaches

2.11.1. Positive testing

2.11.2. Negative testing

2.11.3. Based on tester’s experience, scenarios, checklists Exploratory Ad hoc

2.11.4. By intrusion to application work process Intrusive testing Nonintrusive testing

2.11.5. By automation techniques Data-driven testing Keyword-driven testing Behavior-driven testing

2.11.6. By input data selection techniques Equivalence partitioning Boundary value analysis Domain testing Pairwise testing Orthogonal array testing By code structures

2.11.7. By code structures Statement testing Branch testing Condition testing Multiple condition testing Decision testing Modified condition decision testing Path testing

2.11.8. By code Control flow testing Data flow testing State transition testing Code review

2.11.9. By error source (knowledge) Error guessing Heuristic evaluation Error seeding Mutation testing

2.11.10. By operational environment Development testing Operational testing

2.11.11. By application behavior (models) Decision table testing State transition testing Specification-based testing Model-based testing Use case testing Parallel testing Random testing A / B testing

3. Test techniques

3.1. Black-box techniques

3.1.1. Equivalence Partitioning

3.1.2. Boundary Value Analysis

3.1.3. Decision Table Testing

3.1.4. State Transition Testing

3.1.5. Use Case Testing

3.2. White-box techniques

3.2.1. Statement Testing and Coverage

3.2.2. Decision Testing and Coverage

3.3. Experience-based techniques

3.3.1. Error Guessing

3.3.2. Exploratory Testing

3.3.3. Checklist-based Testing